# Research & Scholarship Council Minutes May 6, 2013 10 a.m., 226 Tigert

Attendees:	Mirka Koro-Ljungberg
Azra Bihorac	David Hahn
Sandra Russo	Suzanne Sindledecker
Sue Alvers	Stephanie Gray
Mindy Menn	Irene Cooke

Pradeep Kumar Cheryl Bell Galia Hatav

Azra Bihorac called the meeting to order at 10:05 am. Minutes from April were approved.

# New Process/Provide System Update – Suzanne Sindledecker

- Treasury Management has been working with the Vice President for Research, CFO and Enterprise Systems to correct many issues related to payment of human subjects.
- Now departments do not have to keep confidential data. All this information is centralized and encrypted and customer focused.
- Instead of researchers buying gift cards with their own funds, researchers can get gift cards through Accounts Payable.
- Another good way to pay participants is through prepaid debit cards. All that is necessary is to contact one person. Treasury Management is testing this option at the moment. They will soon be migrating the beta software version in the middle of May.

# Overview of Last Year's Activities – Azra Bihorac

SCORS was involved with the following during 2012-2013

- Accountability in research
  - Cost Principles in Research
  - Retractions and plagiarism in science
  - Update on IRB changes and online application
  - $\circ$   $\;$  Update on the new system of payment for research subjects
  - Usability testing and feedback
    - My Investigator tool
    - Cayuse software
    - Effort Reporting policy proposal
    - Federal Contract/Grant Cost Principles Training for Faculty and Staff
    - Online P & T reporting
- Interdisciplinary Research
- Open Access Journals at UF
- Training Grants
- Diversity in the research workforce

#### Input for next year – Azra Bihorac

- International Engagement in Research by UF Faculty Survey being conducted by Dr. Norton
- Opportunity Fund
- Cost Sharing
- Open Access Requirements Especially of large datasets
- Office of Research How can they be more user friendly –what do faculty need?

## Selection of New Chair

The Council elected Mirka Koro-Ljungberg as chair of the council for 2013-2014

Meeting adjourned at 10:51 a.m.